photo by Maciek Jaźwiecki

On April 18, 2024, on the eve of the 81st anniversary of the Warsaw Ghetto Uprising, the Jewish Associations of the Historical Institute and the Association of Jewish Veterans and Victims of World War II awarded the “Warsaw Ghetto Uprising” Medals.
This year, eight people and two organizations were awarded medals: Halina Birenbaum, Waldemar Dąbrowski, Christoph Heubner, Małgorzata Omilanowska-Kiljańczyk, Dariusz Popiela, Rasa Rimickaite, Tomasz Sekielski, Izabela Sekulska and the Brama Cukermana Foundation and the Zapomniane Foundation.

The medal was created in 1993 on the initiative of Jewish veterans on the occasion of the fiftieth anniversary of the outbreak of the uprising. It is awarded to people who contributed to the memory of Jewish history during World War II and the Holocaust, as well as to people who contributed to the Polish-Jewish dialogue. Over the last 30 years, it has been awarded to several hundred people, including social activists, scientists, journalists and politicians.

In 2023, on the occasion of the 80th anniversary of the Warsaw Ghetto Uprising, a new Medal “Warsaw Ghetto Uprising”, produced by the Mint of Poland, was created by prof. Hanna Jelonek, who talked about working on his new project during the ceremony. (source: SŻIH)

Congratulations to all the winners and our friends! Brama Cukermana from Będzin!